25 Cincinnati Businesses Selling Face Masks So You Can Stay Safe and Support Local

Prev
Next

Face mask mandates go into effect for Hamilton and Butler counties at 6 p.m. July 8 and for the City of Cincinnati on July 9, which mean people need to wear masks in public starting then.

If you need a mask or want a new one (or just another one to add to your collection) and want to shop local, here are 25 different ideas.

And here are more details on both mask ordinances...

The county-wide orders have been issued by Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine and the Ohio Department of Health and requires all citizens in all seven red alert counties in the state to wear a face mask in public.

This includes: When you're in any indoor location that is not a residence; when you're outdoors and unable to consistently maintain a distance of 6 feet or more from individuals who are not members of your household; while you're are waiting for, riding in, driving or operating public transportation, a taxi, a private car service or a ride sharing vehicle.

The mask order does not apply to children under the age of 10 or any other minor — or anyone — who cannot safely wear a face covering.

"This order will stay on as long as that county is at a red level or purple level," DeWine said.

The City of Cincinnati ordinance will last as long as the mayor's Declaration of Emergency is in effect. Mayor Cranley issued that June 29, 2020.

Violating the ordinance will result in a civil, not criminal, charge punishable by a $25 fine.

The ordinance empowers the Cincinnati Health Department to enforce the law. Those wishing to report noncompliance are asked to call the Health Department at 513-357-7200 instead of calling the police. The health department will first offer a mask to someone who is not wearing one. If you refuse, then you'll be issued a citation.

Individuals within the City of Cincinnati have to wear a facial covering over their nose and mouth when: "Entering, exiting or waiting in an indoor line" to get into a public place of business — that means grocery stores, retail stores, pharmacies, health care facilities, restaurants and bars (while indoors), hotels and motels (unless you're in your rented room), gyms, etc. Religious facilities are not considered "places of business."

You also have to wear a mask on public transit, which includes the streetcar, bus, rideshare (aka Uber and Lyft), taxi or any other vehicle for hire.

When don't you have to wear a mask?

When you're outside and can social distance.

When you're at a restaurant or bar and are actively eating and drinking or when you're sitting outside. Otherwise, you need to have your mask on if you're wandering around the restaurant's public indoor spaces, like if you're going to the restroom.

When you're actively exercising in a gym or other indoor facility and you can maintain social distance.

When you're in your personal or commercial vehicle.

When you're in your own office, conference room or workspace that isn't intended for the public.

When you're engaged in an activity where it isn't feasible to wear a mask — like if you're receiving dental work, swimming, getting medical treatments, etc.

If you are working in your official capacity as a public safety employee or emergency responder and a facial covering would interfere with you carrying out your job i.e. if you're a firefighter, police or peace officer or emergency medical or public safety personnel.

If you're someone complying with the directions from one of the above.

If you are on school grounds. Then you follow the discretion of the Ohio Department of Education and that school's governing body when it comes to mask use.

Who is exempt from the mask ordinance?

Individuals who can't wear a facial covering because of a medical condition, mental health condition or developmental disability.

Those who cannot remove a facial covering without assistance.

Those listed under CDC guidance as people who should not wear facial coverings.

Kids who are younger than 6 years old.